A little something

One thing I make sure I’m very aware of when I’m making something is my mood.  If I’m in a bad mood, be it grumpy or angry, I won’t create anything other than paintings, drawings, and writing.  Those are a safer way of getting rid of the negative energy without passing it on to someone else.

When I make a quilt or jewelry I want the person wearing them to be at ease, calm, confident, happy, and relaxed.  I want them to feel better.  If I’m not feeling well when I make these things it gets built into the creation.  That’s not okay at all ever.  I’ve received a few comments from those who have purchased my wares that they feel better when they wear them or the items nearby.  Their anxiety drops, they feel more relaxed, etc.  That’s what I want them to feel.

My paintings are meant to show a feeling, and make the viewer feel it as well.  Not like a curse, but more like a connection between people, an understanding.  That’s important.  I don’t want my work to simply be pleasing to the eye, but I want the viewer to feel something.

The stories I write I choose carefully.  Poetry flows easily for me, but is rarely shared.  Often it’s very dark, broken, fractured.  That tends to be how I feel when I write poetry.

Today I was in a sour mood for awhile because I had failed at something I was trying.  I became frustrated, angry, and disappointed.  So I left my sewing room, not wanting that feeling to be in there.  I got on my computer and played a game.

I contacted a quilter on FreeCycle because she’s looking for fabric of any kind so she can have something to do.  She and her daughter picked up the fabric within an hour of my contacting her.  The way she reacted to my frustration and how grateful she was for receiving pre-cut fabric completely changed my mood.

Immediately after she left I started on the next quilt because I was happy.  My failure wasn’t failure at all.  It was a learning experience, and it resulted in my meeting another quilter.  She mentioned she had only a few patterns and was always looking for more.  I told her about using Google, but she’s nearly 80 years old and rather terrified of the Internet.  Her daughter asked that I email her instead with a list of websites with free patterns.

Now the new quilt I’m working on is being created with joy, ease, and happiness.  I want the person who buys this to feel these things.  I want them to wrap themselves up in the quilt when they need to feel better, and immediately after doing so they smile.  It may be a small smile, but it’s a better moment than what they had before.  That’s important to me.

So, fellow creators, keep in mind how you’re feeling when you make things.  It gets put into your creations, and you don’t want the negative feeling to be there.  Believe me when I say it can be felt, and it lingers for a long time after the wearer removes it (be it jewelry, a scarf, garments, a blanket, etc).

Leave a Reply

