Extensive absence

I’ve been doing a lot of painting.  By a lot I mean almost daily.

I have several goals, plans, and ideas in mind, and one of them is having panels of my paintings made for a few quilts I would like to make.  Spoonflower offers the option of having fabric created with your own designs on them, and that’s what I’m working on.  I don’t really have the money to purchase the fabric as of yet, but when I do there will definitely be some really awesome quilts made.

Currently I’m doing a lot of practice paintings, learning new techniques, and sharpening my skills.  The ones I feel worthy of showing are available for purchase from Fine Art America (they ship internationally) and RedBubble (they don’t pay the artist as much as FAA).  You can purchase prints as well as items with my work on them.  FAA offers the option of matting and framing the print(s) for you.

Besides painting I’m also working on drawings.  Mostly portraits, but I’ll be adding in a few other things as well.  Progress has been rough because I’m my own worst critic.  Thankfully I’m not a perfectionist.

I’m not making new quilts yet because my “sewing room” is currently serving as my art studio.  It’s a very small room with little space for doing more than one project at a time.  Space Lanterns is slowly coming along with the hand-quilting.  I still have pain in my wrist and require frequent breaks.  Thankfully painting isn’t nearly so taxing.

I’ll keep you updated on new things as they come along.  Go check out the print shops.  Maybe you’ll see something you like?

Leave a Reply

