Productive at last!

With the thumbs up from my doctor I can now do some stuff.  Yay!  I still wear the brace for a portion of the day because it’s tender and hurts, especially the torn ligament, but I got things done.

Today I worked on finishing my sister-in-law’s quilt.  I got a lot done, but not as much as I’d like.  Frequent breaks were required.  A little is better than nothing though.  I’m hoping to have it finished by Saturday.  Saturday is laundry day, and a quilt isn’t a quilt until it’s been washed.

I saw an interesting quilting tip today as well.  To save money I can use a sheet for quilt backing.  There’s plenty of thrift shops around here that I can visit and see what they have to offer.  If nothing else I can buy a white sheet and dye it like a batik print.  Instead of spending a lot of money to buy a lot of fabric for the backing and I can spend half that and get a sheet.  A lot of the stuff I’ve seen about “NEVER” regarding this is mostly because the sheet may not be the same the fabric or it’s a little well loved.

First off, wash the sheet.  All shrinkage will be taken care of.

Secondly, if they’re different materials just adjust the stitch you’re using.  I would get 100% cotton, and probably around 600 ct so it’s smoother.

Third, if the sheet is well loved you don’t actually have to use it.  Choose something else.

I plan on making a picnic blanket, and for that I don’t want a really nice backing because grass stains and dirt.  A sheet from the thrift store will work just fine.  The top of the quilt will be made using scraps and a crazy quilt block technique I recently learned.  Because sheets can be really big because hey, covering the mattress, I can make the quilt rather large and not worry about spending a fortune on fabric, cutting and sewing it back together in the shape and size I need, and well…you get the point.

After I finish my current projects I’m gonna take a walk around this small town and stop at various thrift shops and garage sales.  Even a set of curtains can work just fine for a quilt backing.  I love saving money and time, and this option offers both.

Any of you do some rather odd or unorthodox methods and techniques for your own projects?

2 thoughts on “Productive at last!

Leave a Reply

