Art Collaborations

I just finished a collaboration with Raven White, a friend of mine, and it’s turned out great.  The table mat was finished tonight and photographs will be taken and posted tomorrow.  Here’s what I have for the WIP pics.

Raven did the artwork, and with her permission I printed it out on an iron-on sheet, then fusible webbing, and last but not least made it into a table mat for her.  The artwork was inspired by Beyonce’s Formation (awesome song, beautiful video, highly recommend), and I wanted to keep going with the way the picture feels.  Plus, of course, going with colors Raven enjoys.  The decorative stitching looks a little like footsteps when dancing.  The video has a lot of straight lines, so I kept up with that in the piecing.

This is done with my crazy quilt style, but more along the lines of the log cabin quilting blocks.

The things on the binding are Wonder Clips and they are AWEOSME!  Using bobby pins and hair clips only helped so much.  Wonder Clips are amazing and worth every penny.  I got these 50% off from Joann Fabrics.

For future collaborations I’ll use Spoonflower instead of iron-on sheets.  I can have the pictures printed directly onto the fabric as a print instead of having my printer eat all my ink.  That’s a lot of “print” in there.

Now I’ll be working on my mother’s birthday gift of a place mat set using these fabrics because she absolutely loves this combination.  For the focus point I think I’ll use my hexagon template to make fussy cuts.  That should provide me with all the angles I could possibly need with crazy quilting.

Leave a Reply

