Binding Tutorial

My mother just put this AMAZING binding tutorial together for me.  Every binding tutorial I’ve found has been a bit fussy with my machine, and they’re really confusing for some folks.  Hopefully this helps you out.  It has certainly helped me!  Far simpler and less fussy than mitered binding.

Binding Tutorial From Mom

I’ve placed captions on the images so you can see what’s going on in each of them.  Hopefully the PDF file will download for you, but if not the captions should certainly help.

If you’re a little confused, she makes one long strip, sews to one side of the quilt, cuts, sews the parallel side, cuts, and does it again for the other two sides with an extra inch added to the ends.  It’s much easier than the mitered binding with its corners you have to fold twice, creating layers your machine might not appreciate.  I know my machine, which is AWESOME, doesn’t like mitered corners at all.

I recommend you use a thread conditioner for the hand-sewing.  It makes a big difference, and works better than wax.  You can usually find it in the thread aisle or near the cutting table at the fabric store.  For the hand-sewing/hand-quilting I never use thread longer than 18 inches.  The longer the thread the more likely it is to tangle.

Do you use a binding style or technique that differs from the more traditional methods?  Any tips you want to add?  Leave a comment!  If you have any questions feel free to ask.  If I don’t have an answer I’ll call my mom.

Leave a Reply

