Baby Quilt and Haircut

I finished the baby quilt commission!  Well, I finished in last weekend, but it didn’t go through the wash until today.  A quilt is finished only after it’s been washed.  That’s when the details of the stitching show up!

The person who commissioned me LOVES it!  WOOT!  It’s 30 inches x 22 inches.  She wanted it small and gender neutral, and I think the results are beautiful.  The backing is a dark purple with light purple roses throughout.

It’s 6″ cut squares sewn in seven rows of five, a little less than half a yard for the backing, and I think about a quarter of a yard for the binding.  It’s really very simple, a great starter quilt, and excellent for scraps.

Also, I had my hair trimmed today.  The top is braided, the rest left loose.  Oh, and yes, that’s my itty bitty sewing room.

DSCN2202

Jasper approves of my haircut.  I had to sort of shove him away when he started licking the sides of my head.  He seems to enjoy the texture.

Leave a Reply

